What's Happening

a newsletter for the employees of Maine Medical Center

December 4, 1996

Vol. 27, No.25

Maine Medical Center names new president

Vincent S. Conti of Madison, Connecticut, has been appointed President and CEO of Maine Medical Center. A committee of trustees, physicians, and administrators announced the successful conclusion of their search following votes by the trustees of Maine Medical Center and the Maine Medical Center Foundation.

"The search committee reviewed many individuals from across the country," says Newell A. Augur, Jr., M.D., a Maine Medical Center trustee who chaired the committee. "We're delighted to have found Mr. Conti and convinced him to come to Maine. He has a solid grasp of the problems that face us, and brings to the job a warm personality, flexibility, and experience."

Conti has had a long career at Yale-New Haven Hospital, and leaves the post of Senior Vice President, Administration, to accept the position at Maine Medical Center. He holds a bachelor's degree from Brooklyn College of the City University of New York, and a master's degree from the Cornell University Sloan Institute of Hospital Administration.

The new president will assume his duties

sometime after February 1.

Donald McDowell, who has served as president of both Maine Medical Center and the Maine Medical Center Foundation since 1990, will now devote full-time to the Maine Medical Center Foundation.

"This is a watershed event for Maine Medical Center and the Maine Medical Center Foundation," says MMC Board Chairman Owen W. Wells. "The two boards have begun a process of separation, and Mr. Conti's appointment separates the administrative leadership. With the growth of the Foundation, it is critical that both organizations have strong, full-time leadership. We believe we have a winning team in Don McDowell and Vincent Conti."

The search committee chaired by Dr. Augur included trustees Merton G. Henry, Hugh Farrington, George S. Isaacson, Meg Baxter, and Richard D. Aronson; medical staff members Robert A. Sturges, M.D., Thomas F. Claffey, M.D., and Robert B. Waterhouse, M.D.; hospital staff representative Judith T. Stone, R.N., Vice President, Nursing/Patient Services; and *ex officio* members Owen W. Wells, George McNeil, M.D., Division Director, Residency and Medical Student Training, Psychiatry, and Don McDowell.

Special Edition